Joomla and Mambo....Anyone knows it ????

Do you need help with something? Is your computer acting weird? Or is that recipe just not working out? This is the place to ask for advice and help from the 'professional' membership of Ask!

Moderator: Syed Kazim

User avatar
smak786110
Ask Senior
Ask Senior
Posts: 275
Joined: 14 Feb 2005, 21:24
Location: DSM
Contact:

Joomla and Mambo....Anyone knows it ????

Postby smak786110 » 04 Nov 2006, 21:02

Salaams...
Does anyone know Joomla or Mambo ???
I wnted to know where can i learn, and does it require to know proper PHP language ???
http://www.saqqa.org
Your Web-Hosting Solution !!!
User avatar
Ali
Ask Development Admin.
Posts: 60
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 11:25
Location: Dar es Salaam
Contact:

Postby Ali » 04 Nov 2006, 21:38

Hi,
Mambo and Joomla are pretty much the same... You just need to play around with it for sometime... No Need for PHP Knowledge... If you want to change the design and make one your self, Then you need to know HTML.
./Ali Damji
my.site | Tanzania Startpage
"There is no place like 127.0.0.1"
User avatar
Syed Kazim
Ask Mod
Posts: 262
Joined: 02 Nov 2006, 00:25

Postby Syed Kazim » 04 Nov 2006, 21:40

i know it, http://www.bilaltz.org this site is powered by Joomla!
User avatar
smak786110
Ask Senior
Ask Senior
Posts: 275
Joined: 14 Feb 2005, 21:24
Location: DSM
Contact:

Postby smak786110 » 04 Nov 2006, 21:41

so you say they are easy to learn???
Coz i hv read abit about installation and it says abt sql and php and blah blah which I dont know....Can u tell me how does it work exactly??? :?
http://www.saqqa.org

Your Web-Hosting Solution !!!
User avatar
Syed Kazim
Ask Mod
Posts: 262
Joined: 02 Nov 2006, 00:25

Postby Syed Kazim » 04 Nov 2006, 21:43

well, i really dont know how it works :oops: , my cousin runs that site! altho i think there is a step-by-step wizard!
User avatar
Ali
Ask Development Admin.
Posts: 60
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 11:25
Location: Dar es Salaam
Contact:

Postby Ali » 04 Nov 2006, 21:44

Thats only for Installation..... No need to write any php... If you are with a host with cPanel... Which i guess you do... Just create a MySQL Database... Upload the Mambo Files.. Go to the location of mambo e.g http://www.youdomain.com/mambo/
It will give you a page for installation and to put in details of your MySQL Database (username, password).... The Installation is the easiest part :)
./Ali Damji
my.site | Tanzania Startpage
"There is no place like 127.0.0.1"
User avatar
Syed Kazim
Ask Mod
Posts: 262
Joined: 02 Nov 2006, 00:25

Postby Syed Kazim » 04 Nov 2006, 21:45

:lol: that was easy! :lol:
User avatar
smak786110
Ask Senior
Ask Senior
Posts: 275
Joined: 14 Feb 2005, 21:24
Location: DSM
Contact:

Postby smak786110 » 04 Nov 2006, 21:47

oh ok....
Coz i heard its quite easy for the website which require updating regularly.....
Am the webmaster of http://www.literarysection.org and its alot of time consuming updating each and every page and setting it up correctly and then uploading it!!! :cry:
http://www.saqqa.org

Your Web-Hosting Solution !!!
User avatar
Ali
Ask Development Admin.
Posts: 60
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 11:25
Location: Dar es Salaam
Contact:

Postby Ali » 04 Nov 2006, 21:49

Yeah.. Static Pages are very annoying to edit when there are many things to edit :)
A CMS like Mambo or Joomla simplifies things...
./Ali Damji
my.site | Tanzania Startpage
"There is no place like 127.0.0.1"
User avatar
smak786110
Ask Senior
Ask Senior
Posts: 275
Joined: 14 Feb 2005, 21:24
Location: DSM
Contact:

Postby smak786110 » 04 Nov 2006, 21:53

what about designs???
The Bilal site which Syed Kazim gave is amm...quite....boring i can say...Not that attractive :P :P
http://www.saqqa.org

Your Web-Hosting Solution !!!
User avatar
Syed Kazim
Ask Mod
Posts: 262
Joined: 02 Nov 2006, 00:25

Postby Syed Kazim » 04 Nov 2006, 21:54

:lol: its a tabligh web, its SUPPOSED to be boring, thats what i can say! altho its okay what u think about it, i dun run it :wink: , so i dun mind!
User avatar
smak786110
Ask Senior
Ask Senior
Posts: 275
Joined: 14 Feb 2005, 21:24
Location: DSM
Contact:

Postby smak786110 » 04 Nov 2006, 21:56

So..Tabligh is boring ehhh??? :roll: :roll:
and u wnna be a mawlana :shock: :shock: :shock:
http://www.saqqa.org

Your Web-Hosting Solution !!!
User avatar
Ali
Ask Development Admin.
Posts: 60
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 11:25
Location: Dar es Salaam
Contact:

Postby Ali » 04 Nov 2006, 21:56

:)
There are many templates available for Mambo/Joomla... The one Ask is using is a custom one.. From scratch... for speed optimizations and design flexibility...

Custom is Always better :wink:
./Ali Damji
my.site | Tanzania Startpage
"There is no place like 127.0.0.1"
User avatar
smak786110
Ask Senior
Ask Senior
Posts: 275
Joined: 14 Feb 2005, 21:24
Location: DSM
Contact:

Postby smak786110 » 04 Nov 2006, 21:57

Is it possible 4 example if I hv already made my site in normal HTML...Can i convert tht to Joomla without making other design ????
http://www.saqqa.org

Your Web-Hosting Solution !!!
User avatar
Syed Kazim
Ask Mod
Posts: 262
Joined: 02 Nov 2006, 00:25

Postby Syed Kazim » 04 Nov 2006, 21:58

So..Tabligh is boring ehhh??? Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes
and u wnna be a mawlana Shocked Shocked Shocked


it was a light comment! supposed to mean a joke!

Return to “Ask anyone : Help & Advice Forums”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests