Discuss & Debate | Share | Learn

www.ask.or.tz

Our Partners
Doctor M. Shabbir is currently answering medical questions

Moderators: Syed Kazim, Muhammad

By zafar
salaams doc,

I would like to know how many vaccinations does a child need and upto what age?
By Sadik 110
SalaamAlaikum.

I'm not a doctor. Being just a pre-dental student, i have very shallow knowledge pertaining vaccinations. But i'll share whatever i know. :)

The standard vaccinations that are normally given to a child here (in US and Canada) includes Measles, Mums, Rubella, Tetanus, Hepatitis, Polio, Diptheria, and Flu.

Tetanus and Hepatits are given every 10 years, MMR (Mums, measels, Rubella) need a booster every few years, and flu is annual.

Furthermore, Yellow fever has been an endemic in Africa and South America. Therefore, the infants, pregnant women, and the immunosupressed ones living in those areas, or travelling to those areas, would highly be recomended to get a yellow fever shot.

Ma'salam.
By Shaina
salaams...
i ws jst wonderin if u did get the reply for vaccines to your satisfaction?as the pre-med student replied it, but he's situated in north america and vaccines administration differs country from country!as i cn see u r situated in dar es salaam, tz.im a student studyin at muhimbili in my 4th yr,doing medicine.this is wat i cn tell u for tz as per the national guidelines:
AGE VACCINE
birth BCG,oral polio vaccine (OPV-0)
6wks DPT-1,OPV-1
10wks DPT-2,OPV-2
14wks DPT-3,OPV-3
9months MEASLES & Vit A
pls note that these are for normal babies, not ill.ill babies MAY have some manuevers for vaccinations.hope it ws helpful
shaina
By zafar
THANX A LOT SADIK N SHAINA YOUR POSTS WERE A GREAT HELP.

FURTHER SUGGESTIONS WILL HELP ALSO AS I CAN SEE THAT VACCINATIONS DIFFER FROM COUNTRY TO COUNTRY AS SHAINA MENTIONED.
AS I AM IN DAR ARE THE VACCINATIONS MENTIONED BY SADIK ALSO IMPORTANT FOR CHILDREN IN TANZANIA?
By Shaina
salaams